Dear Brenda,

The Kaplan Dissertation Award Committee is seeking two new members.
Last year, the committee was composed of:
Lena Hileman (chair)
Joseph Williams
Sean Graham
Jessica Budke
Paula Rudall

This year Joe and Sean are rotating off the committee and I continue chairing the committee. We need to identify two new members. Because this committee reviews in a narrow area of Botany, Plant comparative development, we argued that we should identify committee members and not utilize the broad approach of the Committee on Committees. But of course, the oversight from the Committee on Committees is critical.

We would like to invite Dr. Natalia Pabón-Mora (Instituto de Biología, Universidad de Antioquia, Colombia; see attached CV) to join the committee. Dr. Pabón-Mora is an expert flower developmental genetics and her PhD student won the Kaplan award in 2022. We feel that asking mentors of former awardees is an excellent way to continue to bring in new comparative development expertise to the committee.

We would like to invite Dr. Mark Olson (Instituto de Biología, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México; see attached CV) to join the committee. Dr. Olson is an expert in comparative wood anatomy of flowering plants, especially comparative relationships between anatomical structure and function. I believe Dr. Olson has just completed a rotation on the Kaplan Lecture committee.

We hope that the Committee on Committees can provide their approval to bring these two experts on to the Kaplan Dissertation Award Committee. They have both agreed to be nominated by me to the Committee on Committees.

Thanks so much for your time, Lena

Lena Hileman
Professor and Chair
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Kansas
<a href="mailto:line">Ihileman@ku.edu</a>
hilemanlab.org
@LenaHileman