The Henry Allan Gleason Award

The Henry Allan Gleason Award - This award is given annually by the New York Botanical Garden in recognition of an outstanding recent publication in the field of plant taxonomy, plant ecology, or plant geography.

Award Recipients:

2014 - Jean Faubert, of the Société québécoise de bryologie for the three volume work, Flore des Bryophytes du Québec-Labrador, the final volume of which was published this year.

2006 - Dr. Michael G. Simpson is the Gleason Award recipient for 2006 for his book, Plant Systematics, published by Elsevier Academic Press. This publication, many years in the making, represents a masterly treatment of vascular plant groups and the principles of plant systematics as well as incorporating the latest concepts in phulogenetics and methodologies. It is erudite and most importantly - user friendly, especially students. This text will serve as the standard for many years to come.

2000 - Dr. Simon Mayo, Dr. Josef Bogner, and Dr. Peter Boyce
For their book, The Genera of Araceae, published by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. This publication represents THE BOOK on Aroids in covering all aspects of aroid biology, including cultivation, conservation, the fossil record and plant pathology as well as superb germane illustrations. It serves as a model for how monographic works can interface with all botanical disciplines.

1999 - Dr. Carol C. Baskin and Dr. Jerry M. Baskin
For their book, Seeds: Ecology, Biogeography, and Evolution of Dormancy and Germination, published by Academic Press. This excellent book represents the work of two lifetimes of outstanding and innovative study of seed biology through an interactive approach of fieldwork combined with laboratory experiments.

1991 - Paul A. Keddy
For his book COMPETITION, published by Chapman and Hall in 1990.

1990 - Dr. Tod Stuessy, Ohio State University
For his book, Plant Taxonomy: The Systematic Evaluation of Comparative Data. This book will immediately take its place as the successor to the well-known Davis and Heywood text of 1963, Principles of Angiosperm Taxonomy. It provides a thorough, balanced approach, the first half on principles, the second on the data. Users will welcome the careful exposition of different points of view.

  Society Awards


  Student Travel Awards

» Developmental & Structural Section
» Ecological Section
» Economic Botany Section
» Genetics Section
» Pteridological Section

  Named Awards

» Charles Edwin Bessey Teaching Award
» Vernon I. Cheadle Student Travel Awards
» Michael Cichan Award
» Triarch "Botanical Images" Student Travel Award
» Isabel Cookson Award
» The Darbaker Prize
» Katherine Esau Award
» J. S. Karling Graduate Student Research Award
» Margaret Menzel Award
» Maynard Moseley Award
» Jeanette Siron Pelton Award
» Winfried and Renate Remy Award
» A. J. Sharp Award
» Grady L. Webster Structural Botany Publication Award
» Edgar T. Wherry Award

  Sectional Awards

» Ecological Section Student Presentation
       & Poster Awards
» Genetics Section Graduate Student Research Awards
» Genetics Section Student Poster Award
» Historical Section Student Presentation Award
» Physiological Section Li-COR Prize
» Physiological Section Student Presentation Award

  Special Funds

» James M. and Esther N. Schopf Fund

  Special Announcements

» Why should you join the Society as a student?
» Renew Membership / Join BSA
» Employment/Research Opportunities

Grady L. Webster Award Vernon I Cheadle STA Conant Botanical Images STA BSA Image Collection Charles E Bessey Award