BSA Sections & Related Societies

Bryological and Lichenological | Developmental and Structural | Ecology | Economic Botany | Genetics | Historical | Mycological | Paleobotany | Phycological | Physiological | Phytochemical | Pteridological | Systematics | Teaching | Tropical Biology | Midcontinent | Northeastern | Pacific | Southeastern

(* = BSA Council Members)

BRYOLOGICAL AND LICHENOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2014):
*Roger Rosentreter
Bureau of Land Management
1387 S. Vinnell Way
Boise, ID 83709
(208) 373-3824
roger.rosentreter0@gmail.com
  Program Director (2014):
St. Clair, Larry
M. L. Bean Museum
Brigham Young University
2103C  MLBM
 Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-6211
Email: Larry_StClair@byu.edu
 
         

DEVELOPMENTAL AND STRUCTURAL SECTION

Chair (2016):
*Amy Litt
New York Botanical Gardeno
Bronx, NY 10458
(718) 817-8161
E-Mail: alitt@nybg.org
  Program Director (2015):
Joe Williams
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN  37996
E-Mail: joewill@utk.edu
  Treasurer (2014):
Elena Kramer
Harvard University
E-Mail: ekramer@oeb.harvard.edu
         

ECOLOGY SECTION

Chair (2016):
*Eric Morgan
SUNY-Farmingdale
Email: ecmorgan3@yahoo.com
  Vice-Chair (2015):
Brenda Molano-Flores
Department of Plant Biology
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Champaign, IL 61820-5711
(217) 265-8165
molano@inhs.uiuc.edu
  Secretary & Program Director (2014):
Tracy Hawkins
USDA-Forest Service
Center for Bottomland Hardwoods Research
100 Stone Blvd.
Thompson Hall, Mississippi State
Starkville, MS 39762
662-325-2145
tracyhawkins@fs.fed.us
         

ECONOMIC BOTANY SECTION
(more about economic botany)

Chair & Program Director (2014):
*Allison J. Miller, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Saint Louis University
3507 Laclede Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63103-2010
(314) 977-7653 (phone)
(314) 977-3658 (fax)
E-Mail: amille75@slu.edu
  Secretary-Treasurer (2016):
Nanci Ross
Department of Biology
Drake University
Des Moines, Iowa
E-Mail: nanci.ross@drake.edu
   
         

GENETICS SECTION

Chair (2015):
Eric J Bishop-von Wettberg
Florida International University
and Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden
Miami, FL 33199
(40) 863-2789
E-mail: eric.vonwettberg@fiu.edu
  Vice Chair, Program Director (2013):
  Secretary-Treasurer (2015)
Ingrid Jordon-Thaden
University & Jepson Herbaria
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
(352) 273-1976
E-MAIL: ijordonthaden@berkeley.edu
         

HISTORICAL SECTION

Chair & Program Director (2014)
*Rusty Russell
E-Mail: RUSSELLR@si.edu
  Secretary-Treasurer (2013)
Carol L. Kelloff, Ph.D.
Assistant Director
Biological Diversity of the Guiana Shield Program
Department of Botany, MRC166
Smithsonian Institution, NMNH
P.O. Box 37012
Washington, DC 20013-7012 USA
(202) 786-2518, FAX (202) 786-2563
E-MAIL: KelloffC@si.edu
  Student Representative (2014):
Nuala Caomhanach
E-Mail: nuala.caomhanach@gmail.com
         

MYCOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2015) :
*Greg Mueller
Chicago Botanic Garden
Glencoe, IL 60022
E-Mail: gmueller@chicagobotanic.org
       
         

PALEOBOTANICAL SECTION

Chair (2013) :
*Caroline Stromberg
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195-1800
E-Mail: caestrom@u.washington.edu
  Secretary-Treasurer & Program Director (2014) :
Brian J. Axsmith
Professor, Biology Department
University of South Alabama
Mobile, AL 36688
(251) 460-7528
E-Mail: baxsmith@southalabama.edu
  Web Manager:
Hongshan Wang
Florida Museum of Natural History
University of Florida
Dickinson Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611-7800 USA
(352) 392-1721 ex 250
E-Mail: hwang@flmnh.ufl.edu
Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2014):
Maria Gandolfo
L. H. BAILEY HORTORIUM
Cornell University
410 Mann Library Building
Ithaca, NY 14853-4301
E-Mail: mag4@cornell.edu
  Secretary-Treasurer Elect (2014) :
Wilson Taylor
Department of Biology
University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
(715) 836-3176
E-Mail: taylorwa@uwec.edu
   
         

PHYCOLOGICAL SECTION

In Recess        
         

PHYSIOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2015):
*Frank Ewers
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Office of Research
Pomona, CA 91768
E-Mail: fwewers@csupomona.edu
  Program Director (2014):
Peter Melcher
Ithaca College
Ithaca, NY 14850
E-mail: pmelcher@ithaca.edu
  Treasurer (2014):
*Anitra Thorhaug
Yale University
School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
370 Prospect Ave.
New Haven, CT 06511
E-Mail: thorhaug@msn.com
    Program Co-Director (2014):
Brandon Pratt
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY BAKERSFIELD
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1099
E-mail: rpratt@csub.edu
   

PHYTOCHEMICAL SECTION

In Recess        
         

PTERIDOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2014):
*Kathleen M. Pryer
Duke University
E-mail: pryer@duke.edu
  Secretary-Treasurer (2014):
David Barrington
Department of Plant Biology
University of Vermont
Burlington, VT  05405
(802) 656-0431, 656-3221
David.Barrington@uvm.edu
  Program Director (2013):
Eddie Watkins
Department of Biology
129 Ho Science Center 
Colgate University
Hamilton, NY 13346
(315) 228-7660
jwatkins@colgate.edu
         

SYSTEMATICS SECTION

Chair (2014):
*Lynn Clark
Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology
Iowa State University
Ames, IA 50011-1020
(515) 294-8218
E-Mail: lgclark@iastate.edu
  Secretary-Treasurer-Program Director (2016):
Harvey Ballard
315 Porter Hall
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701-2979
(740) 593-4659
Email: ballardh@ohio.edu
   
         

TEACHING SECTION

Chair (2014):
*Carina Anttila-Suare
San Jose City College
2100 Moorpark Ave
San Jose, CA 95128
(415) 338-6487
E-mail: anttilasuarezc@smccd.edu
  Immediate Past Chair (2014):
Stokes S. Baker
University of Detroit Mercy
Biology Department
4001 McNichols Rd.
P.O. Box 19900
Detroit, MI 48219-0900
(313) 993-1142
E-mail: bakerss@udmercy.edu
  Vice Chair & Program Director (2016):
Madhav Nepal
South Dakota State University
Biology and Microbiology
Northern Plain Biostress Laboratory
Brookings, SD 57007
(605) 688-5971
E-mail: Madhav.Nepal@sdstate.edu
Secretary/Treasurer (2014):
A. Bruce Cahoon
Associate Professor of Biology
Middle Tennessee State
Department of Biology, Box 60
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
(615) 494-8792
E-mail: acahoon@mtsu.edu
 
   
         

TROPICAL BIOLOGY SECTION

Chair (2014):
SUZANNE KOPTUR
Department of Biological Sciences
Florida International University
Miami, FL 33199
(305) 348-3103
E-mail: kopturs@fiu.edu
       
         

NORTHEASTERN SECTION

Chairman (2012):
*Mary J. Paoli
1839 Carson Valley Road
Duncansville, PA 16635
814-695-5390
mpaoli@pennswoods.net
       
         

SOUTHEASTERN SECTION

Chairman (2014):
*Emily Gillespie
Marshall University
Huntington, WV 25755
gillespiee@marshall.edu
       
         

More About the BSA

» A Brief History
» Current Officers
» Past Officers
» Corresponding Members
» Contact Information

About Membership

» Membership Information
» Benefits of Membership

» Join the BSA
» Renew Your Membership

BSA Governance

» BSA Sections
» BSA Committees
» BSA Bylaws
» Sectional Bylaws
» BSA Ethics Statement
carnivorous plants
American Journal of Botany Plant Science Bulletin Careers in Botany BSA Image Collection Carnivorous Plants