BSA Sectional Officers for 2002 - 2003

(* = BSA Council Members)

Sections of the Botanical Society of America:

Bryological and Lichenological | Developmental and Structural | Ecology | Economic Botany | Genetics | Historical | Mycological | Paleobotany | Phycological | Physiological | Phytochemical | Pteridological | Teaching | Systematics | Tropical Biology | Midcontinent | Northeastern | Pacific | Southeastern

BRYOLOGICAL AND LICHENOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2003):
* Paula DePriest
Department of Botany, NHB - 166
National Museum of Natural History Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC 20560
(202) 786-0192, FAX (202) 786-2563
E-Mail: Depriest.Paula@NMNH.SI.EDU

DEVELOPMENTAL AND STRUCTURAL SECTION

Chair (2004):
*Pamela Diggle
Department of EPO Biology - Box 334
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0334
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0421
Phone: (303) 492-4860
FAX: (303) 492-8699
E-Mail: diggle@spot.colorado.edu
 
Program Director (2003):
Larry Hufford
School of Biological Sciences
Washington State University
Pullman, WA 99164-4236
(509) 335-2183 FAX (509) 335-3517
E-mail: hufford@mail.wsu.edu
 
Treasurer (2003):
Darlene H. Southworth
Department of Biology
Southern Oregon University
Ashland OR 97520
Tel: 541-552-6865
FAX: 541-552-6415
E-Mail: southworth@sou.edu

ECOLOGY SECTION

Chair (2004):
*Suzanne Koptur
Department of Biological Sciences
Florida International University
Miami, FL 33199
(305)348-3103; FAX: (305)348-1986
Email: kopturs@fiu.edu
 
Vice-Chair (2004):
Timothy J. Bell
Department of Biological Sciences
Chicago State University
9501 S. King Dr.
Chicago, IL 60628-1598
(773)995-2442; FAX: 773/995-3759
Email: tj-bell1@csu.edu
 
Secretary (2004):
Joseph C. Colosi
Biology Department
DeSales University
2755 Station Ave.
Center Valley, PA 18034
(610) 282-1100 ex 1288 FAX (610) 282-2254
Email: JCC0@desales.edu

ECONOMIC BOTANY SECTION

Chair (2005):
*David M. Spooner
USDA-ARS
Department of Horticulture
University of Wisconsin
1575 Linden Drive
Madison, WI 53706-1590
(608) 262-0159 FAX: (608) 262-4743
E-Mail: dspooner@facstaff.wisc.edu
 
Secretary-Treasurer (2003):
*Daniel K. Harder
Executive Director of the Arboretum
University of California, Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz, California
1156 High Street
Santa Cruz, California 95064
(831) 427-2998 FAX: (831) 427 1524
E-Mail: dkharder@cats.ucsc.edu

GENETICS SECTION

Chair (2004):
*Stephen J. Novak
Department of Biology
Boise State University
1910 University Drive
Boise, ID 83785
208-385-3548 FAX 208-385-4267
E-mail: snovak@boisestate.edu
 
Vice Chair (2004):
Randall L. Small
Dept. of Botany
437 Hesler Biology
Knoxville, TN 37996-1100
Phone: 865-974-6207 FAX: 865-974-2258
E-mail: rsmall@utk.edu
 
Secretary-Treasurer (2004):
Wm Vance Baird
Horticulture Dept.
Poole Agr CT, Box 340375
Clemson University
Clemson, SC 29634-0375
Phone: (864) 656-4953 FAX: (864) 656-4960
E-mail: vbaird@clemson.edu
 
Editor, Newsletter:
[vacant]

HISTORICAL SECTION

Chair (2003):
*Lee B. Kass
2127 Spencer Rd
Newfield, NY 14867
(607) 255-4876 FAX (607) 255-7979
E-Mail: lbk7@cornell.edu
 
 
Vice-Chair (2003)
To Be Announced After Botany 2003
 
Secretary-Treasurer (2003)
To Be Announced After Botany 2003
 
 
Program Chair (2003)
Lee B. Kass
L. H. Bailey Hortorium
Department of Plant Bilology
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853-5908
(607) 255-4876 or FAX (607) 255-7979
E-MAIL: lbk7@cornell.edu
 
 
Program Co-Chair (2003)
Laurence J. Davenport, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Samford University
Birmingham, AL 35229-2234
(205) 726-2584 or FAX (205) 726-2479
E-MAIL: ljdavenp@samford.edu
 

MYCOLOGICAL SECTION

Currently Developing New Spores - new contacts coming soon


PALEOBOTANICAL SECTION

Chair (2003) :
*Dr. Brian Axsmith
Dept of Biological Sciences
University of South Alabama
Mobile, AL 36688
(251) 460-6331 FAX (251) 414-8220
E-Mail: Baxsmith@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
 
Secretary-Treasurer (2004):
Kathleen B. Pigg
Department of Plant Biology
Box 871601
Arizona State University
Tempe AZ 85287-1601
(480) 965-3154 FAX (480) 965-6899
E-Mail: kpigg@asu.edu
 
 
Web Manager: [vacant new office, as of 8/15/01]
 
Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2004):
Wilson A. Taylor
Dept. of Biology
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Eau Claire WI 54702-4004
(715) 836-3176 FAX (715) 836-2380
E-mail: taylorwa@uwec.edu

PHYCOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2003):
*Martha E. Cook
Assistant Professor of Botany
Illinois State University
Department of Biological Sciences
Campus Box 4120
Normal, IL 61790-4120 USA
(309)438-8549 FAX Fax: (309) 438-3722
E-Mail: mecook1@ilstu.edu
http://www.bio.ilstu.edu/cook/
 
 
Secretary (2003):
Richard M. McCourt
Associate Curator of Botany
Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia
(215) 299-1157, Fax (215) 299-1028
E-mail: mccourt@acnatsci.org

PHYSIOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2004):
*Denise Seliskar
Halophyte Biotechnology Center
College of Marine Studies
700 Pilottown Rd.
Lewes, DE 19958
(302) 645-4366 FAX (302) 645-4028
E-Mail: seliskar@udel.edu
 
Program Director (2004):
Henri Maurice
Biology Department
U of Southern Indiana
8600 University Boulevard
Evansville, Indiana 47712-3596
(812) 461-5231 FAX (812)
E-Mail: botprof@aol.com
 
Treasurer (2004):
Peter F. Straub
Natural Science and Mathematics Division
Richard Stockton College
Pomona, N.J. 08240
(609) 652-4556 FAX (609) 748-5515
E-Mail: pete.straub@stockton.edu

PHYTOCHEMICAL SECTION

Re-acting - new contacts coming!
 

PTERIDOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2003):
*Warren Hauk
Dept. of Biology
Denizen University
Granville, OH 43023
(740) 587-5758
E-mail: hauk@denison.edu
 
Secretary-Treasurer (2003):
Karen Renzaglia
ORDA
Southern Illinois University
Carbondale, IL 62901-4709
(618) 453-4549 FAX: (618) 453-3441
E-mail: renzaglia@plant.siu.edu

SYSTEMATICS SECTION

Chair (2003):
*Wayne Elisens
Dept. of Botany and Microbiology
University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma 73019
(405) 325-5923 FAX (405) 325-7619
E-Mail: Elisens@ou.edu
 
 
Secretary-Treasurer (& Program Director) (2004):
Andrea D. Wolfe
Department of EEO Biology
The Ohio State University
1735 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210-1993
(614) 292-0267 FAX: (614) 292-6345
E-Mail wolfe.205@osu.edu

TEACHING SECTION

Chair (2003):
*Tim Gerber
Dept. of Biology and Microbiology
University of Wisconsin-Cowley Hall
La Crosse, WI 54601
(608) 785-8238
E-Mail: gerber.dani@uwlax.edu
 
Vice Chair (2003):
Jim Mickle
Department of Botany
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7612
(919) 515-9050 FAX (919) 515-7519
E-Mail: james_mickle@ncsu.edu
 
Secretary/Treasurer (2004):
Stanley Rice
Department of Biological Sciences
Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Durant, OK  74701-0609
(580) 745-2688 FAX (580) 745-7459
E-mail: srice@sosu.edu
 
 
Program Coordinator (2005)
Phil Gibson
Department of Biology
Agnes Scott College
141 E College Ave.
Decatur, GA 30030
(404) 638-6267
E-Mail: pgibson@agnesscott.edu

TROPICAL BIOLOGY SECTION

Chair (2004):
*Susana Magallón
Dpto. de Botánica, Instituto de Biología
        Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
Circuito Exterior, Anexo al Jardín Botánico
A.P. 70-233
México D.F. 04510
(52) 55-5622-9087  FAX (52) 55-5550-1760
E-mail: S.Magallon@ibiologia.unam.mx
Program Chair and Secretary-Treasurer (2004):
Andrew Douglas
Biology Department
University of Mississippi
University, MS 38677
(662) 232-7203
E-mail: adouglas@olemiss.edu

 

MIDCONTINENT SECTION

In Development Stage - new contacts coming soon
 

NORTHEASTERN SECTION

Chair (2003):
*Joanne Tow
33 Jay Street
Hicksville, NY 11801-5855
Botany2003@hotmail.com
 
Treasurer (2003):
Karl Anderson
Rancocas Nature Center
794 Rancocas Road
Mount Holly, NJ 08060
(609) 261-2495
rancoc@bellatlantic.net


PACIFIC SECTION

Chair (2003):
*Dieter Wilkin
Santa Barbara Botanic Garden
1212 Mission Canyon Rd
Santa Barbara, CA 93105
(805) 682-4726 FAX: (805) 563-0352
E-Mail: dwilken@sbbg.org
 
 
Assistant Chair (2003):
Nancy R. Morin
The Arboretum at Flagstaff
4001 S. Woody Mountain Road
Flagstaff, Arizona 86001
(928) 774-1442 ext.104 FAX (928) 774-1441
E-Mail: nancy.morin@nau.edu

SOUTHEASTERN SECTION

Chairperson (2003):
*James L. Mickle
Department of Botany
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7612
(919) 515-9050 FAX (919) 515-7519
E-Mail: james_mickle@ncsu.edu
 
Activities Committee Chair (2003):
Frank D. Watson
Department of Biology
St. Andrews College
Laurinburg NC 28352
(919) 276-3652 X-358 FAX (919) 277-5020
E-Mail:
 
Secretary-Treasurer (2003):
Larry Davenport
Department of Biology
Samford University
Birmingham, AL 35229
(205) 726-2584 FAX (205) 726-2479
E-Mail: ljdavenp@samford.edu

*BSA Council Members