BSA Sectional Officers for 1998 - 1999

(* = BSA Council Members) Revised 1/27/99
** indicates expired term.

Sections of the Botanical Society of America:

Bryological and Lichenological | Developmental and Structural | Ecology | Economic Botany | Genetics | Historical | Mycological | Paleobotany | Phycological | Physiological | Phytochemical | Pteridological | Teaching | Systematics | Tropical Biology | Midcontinent | Northeastern | Pacific | Southeastern

BRYOLOGICAL AND LICHENOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (1998):**
* Paula DePriest
Department of Botany, NHB - 166
National Museum of Natural History Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC 20560
(202) 357-2545, FAX (202) 786-2563
E-Mail: depriest@onyx.si.edu

DEVELOPMENTAL AND STRUCTURAL SECTION

Chair (2001):
*Jean Gerrath
Department of Biology
University of Northern Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0421
Phone: (319) 273-7152
FAX: (319) 273-7125
E-Mail: gerrath@uni.edu
Program Director (2000):
Elizabeth M. Harris
Botany Department
Eastern Illinois University
Charleston, IL 61920-3099
Phone: (217) 581-6608, FAX: (217) 581-7141
E-mail: cfemh@eiu.edu
Treasurer (1999):
Cynthia Jones
Department of Ecol. and Evol. Biol.
University of Connecticut
Storr, CT 06269
(203) 486-4150, FAX (203) 486-6364
E-Mail: cjones@unconnvm.ucon.edu

ECOLOGY SECTION

Chair (2001):
*Maxine A. Watson
Department of Biology
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47405-6801
(812) 855-5591 FAX: (812) 855-6705
Email: mwatson@bio.indiana.edu
Vice-Chair (2001):
Elizabeth P. Lacey
Department of Biology
University of North Carolina
Greensboro, NC 27420
(336) 334-5391 X-53 FAX: 336/334-5839
Email: laceye@goodall.uncg.edu
Secretary (2001):
Massimo Pigliucci
Department of Botany
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN 37996-1100
(423) 974-6221 FAX: (423) 974-0978
Email: pigliucci@utk.edu

ECONOMIC BOTANY SECTION

Chair (1999):
David Lentz
New York Botanical Garden
Bronx, NY 10458-5126
(314) 577-9503 FAX (314) 220-6504
E-Mail: dlentz@nybg.org
Secretary-Treasurer (2000):
*Daniel K. Harder
Missouri Botanical Garden
P.O. Box 299
St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
(314) 577-5169, FAX (314) 577-5169
E-Mail: harder@mobot.org

GENETICS SECTION

Chair (1999):
*Kenneth G. Wilson
Department of Botany
Miami University
Oxford, OH 45056
(513) 529-6601 FAX (513) 529-4243
E-Mail: wilsonkg@muohio.edu
Vice Chair (2000):
Jeri Higginbotham
Biology Department
Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville, AL 36265
(205) 782-5638
E-Mail: jerih@jsucc.jsu.edu
Secretary-Treasurer (1999):
Stephen J. Novak
Dept. of Biology
Boise State University
Boise, ID 83725
(208) 385-3548, FAX (208) 385-4267
E-mail: snovak@atlas.idbsu.edu
Editor, Newsletter (1999):
Vance Baird
Horticultural Department
Plant and Animal Science Building
Clemson University
Clemson, SC 29634-0375
(803) 656-4953, FAX (803) 656-4960
vance baird@quickmail.clemson.edu

HISTORICAL SECTION

Chair (2001):
Vassiliki Betty Smocovitis
Department of History
4131 Turlington Hall
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611-7320
(352) 392-0271 FAX 392-6927
E-Mail: bsmocovi@history.ufl.edu
Vice-Chair (2001)
Peter F. Stevens
Harvard University Herbaria
22 Divinity Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 495-2348 FAX 495-9484
E-Mail: pstevens@oeb.harvard.edu
Secretary-Treasurer (2001)
*Laurence J. Dorr
Department of Botany, MRC-166
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, DC 20560-0166
(202) 633-9106 or 357-2534 FAX 786-2563
E-MAIL: dorrl@nmnh.si.edu

MYCOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2001):
*David S. Hibbett
Harvard University Herbarium
22 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 496-3374 FAX (617) 495-9484
E-Mail: dhibbett@oeb.harvard.edu
Secretary/Treasurer (1999):
J.S. Shipman
30-32 Elm St. #30-3
New Market, NH 03857
(617) 626-3814
E-mail: jshipman@mecn.mass.edu

PALEOBOTANICAL SECTION

Chair (1999):
Jeffrey M. Osborn
Division of Science
Truman State University
Kirksville, MO 63501
(660) 785-4017 FAX (660) 785-4045
E-Mail: josborn@truman.edu
Secretary-Treasurer (2001):
*Steven R. Manchester
Florida Museum of Natural History
Department of Natural Sciences
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611-2035
Tele: (352) 392-6564 Fax: (352) 846-0287
E-mail: steven@flmnh.ufl.edu
Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2001):
Patrick S. Herendeen
Department of Biological Sciences
George Washington University
Lisner Hall 340
2023 G Street NW
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-5828 FAX (202) 994-6100
E-mail: herenden@gwis2.circ.gwu.edu

PHYCOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2001):
*Louise A. Lewis
Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
University of Conneticut
75 North Eagleville Road, U-43
Storrs, CT 06269-3042
(860) 486-6723 FAX (860) 486-6364
E-Mail: llewis@uconnvm.uconn.edu
Secretary (1999):
Jeffrey R. Johansen
Department of Biology
John Carroll University
University Heights, OH 44118
(216) 397-1886 FAX none
E-Mail: none

PHYSIOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (2001):
*Peter F. Straub
Natural Science and Mathematics Division
Richard Stockton College
Pomona, N.J. 08240
(609) 652-4556 FAX (609) 748-5515
E-Mail: pete.straub@stockton.edu

PHYTOCHEMICAL SECTION

Chair (1998):**
*James W. Wallace
Department of Biology
Western Carolina University
Cullowhee, NC 38723
(704) 227-7244 FAX (704) 227-7647
E-Mail: wallacej@wcuvax1.wcu.edu
Secretary and Program Organizer (1998):**
Emanuel Johnson
USDA ARS WSL
Building 001, Room 308 BARC-W
10300 Baltimore Ave.
Beltsville, MD 20705-2350
(301) 504-5323 FAX (301) 504-6491
E-mail eljohnsn@asrr.arsusda.gov.
Treasurer-Editor (1997):
W. Dennis Clark
Department of Botany
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ 85287
(602) 965-4482 FAX (602) 965-6899
E-Mail: atwdc@asuvm.inre.asu.edu

PTERIDOLOGICAL SECTION

Chair (1999):
W. Carl Taylor
Milwaukee Public Museum
800 West Wells Street
Milwaukee, WI 53233
(414) 278-2760 FAX 223-1396
E-mail: ct@mpm1.mpm.edu
Secretary-Treasurer (2001):
*Thomas A. Ranker
Department of EPO Biology
Campus Box 334
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309
(303) 492-5074 FAX: (303) 492-8699
Email: thomas.ranker@colorado.edu

SYSTEMATICS SECTION

Chair (2001):
*J. Mark Porter
Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
1500 North College Avenue
Claremont, CA 91711
(909) 625-8767 ext. 229 FAX (909) 626-7670
E-Mail: j.mark.porter@cgu.edu
Secretary-Treasurer (1999):
Sterling C. Keeley
Department of Botany
University of Hawaii
3190 Maile Way
Honolulu, HI 96822
(808) 956-8043 FAX (808) 956-8369
E-Mail sterling@hawaii.edu

TEACHING SECTION

Chair (1999):
*Rob J. Reinsvold
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Northern Colorado
Greeley, CO 80639
(970) 351-2716 FAX (970) 351-1269
E-Mail: rjreins@bentley.unco.edu
Secretary/Treasurer (1999):
*Donald S. Galitz
Department of Botany/Biology
Stevens Hall, P.O. Box 5517
North Dakota State University
Fargo, ND 58103
(701) 237-7226 FAX (701) 237-7149
E-mail: galitz@badlands.nodak.edu
Program Coordinator (1999)
J.S. Shipman
30-32 Elm St. #30-3
New Market, NH 03857
(603) 659-7370
E-mail: jshipman@mecn.mass.edu

TROPICAL BIOLOGY SECTION

Chair (2001):
Susanne Renner
Department of Biology
8001 Natural Bridge Rd.
University of Missouri-St. Louis
St. Louis, MO 63121-4499
FAX: (314) 516-6233
Email: ssrenne@umslvma.umsl.edu
Program Chair and Secretary-Treasurer (2001):
*Andrew Douglas
Field Museum of Natural History
Roosevelt Rd at Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60605
(312) 922-9410 EXT-730 FAX: (312) 427-2530
Email: douglas@fmppr.fmnh.org

MIDCONTINENT SECTION

Chair (1999):
* Wayne J. Elisens
Department of Botany and Microbiology
University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK 73019
(405) 325-5923 FAX (405) 325-7619
E-Mail: elisens@ou.edu
Vice Chair (1999):
Randy Allen
Department of Biological Sciences
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, TX 79409
(806) 742-2711 FAX (806) 742-2963
E-Mail: brrda@ttacs.ttu.edu
Secretary/Treasurer (2001):
Kenneth J. Freiley
Biology Department
University of Central Arkansas
Conway, AR 72035
(501) 450-5926 FAX (501) 450-5914
E-Mail: kennethf@cc1.vca.edu
Vice Secretary/Treasurer (2001):
Allan D. Nelson
Department of Biology
Science Building, Rm 226
Box T-0100
Tarleton State University
Stephenville, TX 76402
(254) 968-9159 FAX (254) 968-9157 E-Mail: nelson@tarleton.edu

NORTHEASTERN SECTION

Chair (1996):
*Karl Anderson
Rancocas Nature Center
794 Rancocas Road
Mount Holly, NJ 08060
(609) 261-2495

PACIFIC SECTION

Chair (1999):
Fred Rickson
Department of Botany
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR 97331-2902
(503) 737-5272 FAX (503) 737-3573
E-Mail: ricksonf@bcc.orst.edu
Secretary-Treasurer (1999):
*David E. Bilderback
College of Arts and Sciences LA101
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812-1214
(406) 243-2632 FAX (406) 243-4076
E-Mail: bilderba@selway.umt.edu

SOUTHEASTERN SECTION

Chair (2000):
*Kathleen L. Hornberger
Department of Biology
Science Division
Widner University
Chester, PA 19013
E-Mail: hornberger@pop1.science.widener.edu
Activities Committee Chair (1999):
Mary A. McKenna
Biology Department, Rm 214
Howard University
415 College St., NW
Washington, DC 20059
(202) 806-6103 FAX (202) 806-4564
E-Mail: mmckenna@fac.howard.edu
Secretary-Treasurer:
[vacant]

*BSA Council Members