Members: Linda E. Graham Chair, Wayne Fagerberg, Chuck Delwiche

The Darbaker Prize in Phycology is presented to a resident of North America for meritorious work in the study of microscopic algae based on papers published in English by the nominee during the last two full calendar years. Upon conferring with Bill Dahl, the committee learned that there were sufficient funds to make two awards in 2008. The two Darbaker prize winners for 2008 are Debabish Bhattacharya and Virginia (Ginger) Armbrust.

D. Bhattacharya was nominated on the basis of his contributions to an international tree of life project and phylogeny papers published on a wide range of algal groups during the years of 2006 and 2007, particularly Li, S., T. Nosenko, J.D. Hackett, and D. Bhattacharya. 2006. Phylogenomic analysis provides evidence for the endosymbiotic transfer of red algal genes in chromalveolates. Mol. Biol. Evol. 23:663-674.

V. Armbrust was cited for several notable research contributions on the biology of diatoms in 2006 and 2007, including the following: Oudot-Le Secq, M.-P., J. Grimwood, H. Shapiro, C. Bowler, E. V. Armbrust and B R. Green. 2007. Chloroplast genomes of the diatoms Phaeodactylum tricornutum and Thalassiosira pseudonana: comparison with other plastid genomes of the red lineage. Molecular Genetics and Genomics 277:427-429.

Respectfully submitted, Linda Graham, Chair